Thread: Just got my PC

LE Anniversary
    02 SS, 02 Firehawk

Just got my PC

Just got my Porter Cable from UPS, and I want to detail my car this weekend. I am trying to decide between 3M 3000 series products, or Menzerna. I have no experience with either product. My car is red, if that makes a difference. I'm not entirely sure how the process works....I plan on starting with a light swirl remover and working my way up if necessary. How do I work down from a light swirl remover if that turns out to be good enough? Just wax/polish the vehicle as usual, or is there another step with the buffer I need to do? Also, what exactly does a machine glaze do?
    Last edited by Devildog; 05-14-2007 at 09:19 PM.

Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

I've always heard great things about Menzerna. I use Pinnacle products right now. I'd start with polish and a white polishing pad, if that dont cut it, use the swirl remover and a white pad. Need more still, use the swirl cutter with a light cutting pad (orange). I wax afterwards with liquid Pinnacle wax applied with the PC and a grey (no cut) pad. Remove with a microfiber towel.

Avus Silver
    2007 Audi RS4

Quote Originally Posted by Devildog View Post
    Just got my Porter Cable from UPS, and I want to detail my car this weekend. I am trying to decide between 3M 3000 series products, or Menzerna. I have no experience with either product. My car is red, if that makes a difference. I'm not entirely sure how the process works....I plan on starting with a light swirl remover and working my way up if necessary. How do I work down from a light swirl remover if that turns out to be good enough? Just wax/polish the vehicle as usual, or is there another step with the buffer I need to do? Also, what exactly does a machine glaze do?
    It depends on the condition of your paint. The clearcoat on the f-bodies is pretty hard. Conventional wisdom dictates that you approach the job with the least aggressive method