Black
    1999 SS Camaro

Performance Upgrades at a affordable price?

Im new to the LS-1 community personally as far as my own ride, but Ive grown up around fast car. Being Im at the you competitive age where showing your bravado is necessary, I am in search of ways to soup up my car and take on the majority of import garb, but not kill myself in the process. Now I was leaning towards a supercharger or a set of ls-2 heads but either of those would take time to save up money and acquire. Or I even looked at getting a programmer to unlock my cars stock potential. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Black
    2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

Start off with a lid SLP makes a good one but there is also Wisper and many others. Do all the free Mods like throttlebody bypass, free ram air, EGR!, Ported MAF, and Ported Throttlebody, ect. you can see how to do all of these at Installuniversity.com. then A short stick is always a good low priced investment. Headers Off road y pipe and cat back all make a difference. Also mabe look into a good programer. These are all safe mods which will keep your budget down. After that you start getting into heads and Cams then maybe the bottle and turbo or supercharger. Remember that if your putting alot of ponies to the pavment you might want to look into a 12 bolt or 9" rear, and sub frame connectors. but I would at leadst do lid, free mods and headers before supercharger.

2 SS's are better than 1 Jays00ss's Avatar

NBM / Silver
    00 SS / 71 SS Elcamino

welcome, First mods I would suggest is allow your car to breathe, More air in your engine means more power coming out of it. But you need to allow it to exit just as well as it comes in. Put a new air lid, K&N filter, New MAF sensor, then put some long tube headers on and an off road y -pipe ( if you don't have to deal with emissions) then a good cat-back exhaust (I would recomend Borla or Magnaflow).