Silver
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

What Aftermarket ECM are you running??

Was just wondering what aftermarket ECM people are running....I'm looking at the F.A.S.T XFI system but would like to see if anyone has one or another one and how they like it......

Black
    1998 Z-28

Building my own

Since I have not found any useful aftermarket replacements for the stock 1998 LS1 computer I am building my own (I am an engineer motorhead with engine/electronics/programming expertise).

My first step has been to build a few devices to intercept the stock sensors - the first was the MAF. Nothing more than an analog to digital converter, micro-controller, and digital to analog converter - it spoofs the stock computer quite nicely :-)

At some point I will have a data logger that catches all the signals at the stock box - followed by adjusting things as desired. Final 'product' will be one which could replace the stock box - I may not go that far as I only am interested in the engine side of things and the stock computer does a ton of other things (car alarm etc). A simple 'interceptor' design may be where I stop.

My goals include using wideband O2 sensors and a technology called Ion Sensing to use the sparkplug itself as a sensor to deduce peak chamber pressure and adjust timing accordingly.

Far too much fun, and as I have a real job never enough time to prototype/test...

Funny you mention Ion Sensing. BMW is using it on the S85 M5 engine. It's seems to be much more accurate than using a knock sensor.

Mrs.'s Boobies

Onyx Black
    2001 Camaro SS

Although not compatible with 1998 ECMs, AEM is starting production of the EMS for 1999+ F-Bodies. I should be receiving mine very soon.

Black
    1998 Z-28

Interceptor ECM coming along nicely