Torque Junky

Blue on White & Dark Blue
    70 TA RA III & 02 TA WS6

Scanner vs tuner software

Hi, folks. I'm pretty new to LS1s, and I'm already confused with the tuner/scanner choices out there. I've read the "Handhelds, software packages...so u dont ask again" post, but I have other concerns.

History: Bought an 01 WS6 a couple of weeks ago, SES light has come on since then. Code is P0440, but tightening the gas cap didn't fix it. Would like to avoid renting a scanner from AutoZone every weekend while troubleshooting this.

Are my only choices to go with 1) a relatively cheap handheld scanner that only pulls codes, 2) cheap OBDII adapter + software for reading sensors/codes via PC, or 3) expensive adapter + software for pulling codes and full ECM editing?

1 and 2 seem to be in the low $100 range, but out of the two I think 2 is better, due to being able to read the sensors as well as the DTCs. I'd ideally like some sort of middleground between 2 and 3, however, if such a thing exists.

I'm planning on keeping the car long term, but I don't plan to mod it for at least the next year or two. When I do eventually mod the car, it would be nice to know that I didn't waste my money on a $100 scanner, only to get a $400 scanner/editing package a little while later.

Is there something along the lines of LS1Edit/HPTUNERS/etc without the huge price tag? Or if I go with choice #2 and get, for example, ScanTool.net's ElmScan 5 Scan Tool, might it be usable with editing software that I get later? Is there any more do-it-yourself solution that brings the costs down considerably?

Thanks for helping clear up the confusion!

The cheapest code reader I'm aware of is from harborfreight - $49.99? All it does is read/clear codes though. After you decide on what tuning package you want later on you can just sell it/keep it in the glove compartment.

Just checked, on sale for $39.99 - sending you a link if you want to check it out.

Torque Junky

Blue on White & Dark Blue