blue and white
    99 transam 30th vert

Cool New cam, idle issue

Hey you'all.. I just got a cam a while back and they re-tuned etc. Can they get the car to idle consistently after a cam swap? At first it wa idling at 550 rpm which was good as it gave you a real good sound from the cam, but upon initial starting in the morning it was very cold blooded as they used to say about a carbed engine. After it warmed up it was fine, I sent it back to the tune guy and now when you start it the car runs at about 1000rpm sort and has a surge between 1000 and 800 rpm or so, then it settles down to a 750rpm idle, just sort of weird.. Never was that eratic before the cam. Cam is a 575 lift, 240 duration etc, nothing real radical. Any ideas?

Red
    2000 Camaro SS

I'm not an expert at this but those who are seem to ask these questions:

Who tuned it and what kind of tune? Dyno or mail order?

What transmission?

What MAF?

If I were troubleshooting it myself, from what you are saying the first thing I'd do, if you haven't looked at it already, is to clean the MAF. If you have an after market one, was that a factor when the car was tuned?

Other than that, someone more knowledgeable will chime in soon and give you some feedback. Answering those questions will probably help them start helping you.
    Y2K SS A4 Y2Y GU5: 12.96@106-SLP FLO PAC|P&P Stock TB | Pacesetter LT's | TSP Rumbler X Duals | B&M Trans Cooler | Rear Tubular LCA's w/ Relocation Brackets | Tubular PHB | SFC's | Diablo Sport Tuning

blue and white
    99 transam 30th vert

cam, idle

The car is an automatic, 2800 stall, etc, the tune was done on premise with the dyno, no mail order. The maf is brand new aftermarket as well as the throttle body is a new holley. The intake he put on was an ls2, that is why the new throttle body and maf.

Red
    2000 Camaro SS