SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

hypertech power programer III

i was wondering if this would be worth getting for the 93 premium octane power program, i have a 98 SS with a flowmaster and MTI induction

do any of you guys have this all ready and would you reccomend it?

is this worth the money and what are they typical power gains.

"Lucky" Luciano
    For the same money or less you can get a custom tune. HPP is not worth it imo.

414 RWHP 395 RWTQ
    00 Black Ram Air Trans Am

HPP3 is good if you changed gears or tire sizes, other then that you are better off spending a little more and getting a Predator or custom tune as stated above.

Red
    1998 M6 vert TA

HPP3 = most expensive door stopper.
    Waste of time and money.
    6 month later I got it I went with LS1 Edit and looked in the HPP3 program: call it everything but not a tune!

The predator doesn't fit the 98, if you have a laptop I'd buy some serious software.
    MODS: A4 > M6 conversion, SC raptor hood, Vortech V9 G-Trim SQ, homemade water-alcohol injection
    DYNO: 410 RWHP, 417 TORQUE @ 5 PSI

transam1998

Hpp3

My friend has a 2003 t/a M6. HE installed the HPP3 power tuning, then we went to the track. He couldn't get his car to run any better than 14.0 @ 100 mph. He came back into the pits, installed the stock tuning, then went back up and ran 13.6 @ 106 mph. The only thing he is currently using the HPP3 for is to change the fan schedule and to correct the speedo. Kind of an expensive unit for that.

414 RWHP 395 RWTQ
    00 Black Ram Air Trans Am

Yeah forgot about that stupid "Power Programming." Haven't heard one good thing about it.

Red
    1998 M6 vert TA

transam1998: how does a 2003 t/a look like? the 2002 was the last one!

The power tuning increases timing in a couple of spots claming it's optimized.
    Increases the MAF curve, this should put all LTFT negative, at the same time it messes with the torque calculation which is used to determinate shift pressure.. !!!