Thread: Chipping an LS1

Red with Silver Stripes
    2002 Camaro SS LE

Chipping an LS1

OK, so I am new to modern motors...most of my experience is with classic V8 engines that greatly pre-date any computers...so, this post may be full of stupid comments and questions; so bare with me.

Anyway, I have a couple friends who have performed a couple bolt on mods to their cars (one is a Ford Explorer and the other is a Dodge Ram) and one of the mods they liked the most was the computer chip they installed.

So, my understanding is these chips generally alter the air-to-fuel ration and the fuel curves to make better power. Do they also generally lower fuel efficiency?

Also, I would be interested in at some point doing this to my Camaro if it was worth doing. Right now, my car is pretty much bone stock...but I don't have any crazy plans with it. I have a 2002 Camaro SS LE M6 with the factory 3.42 gears and an SLP installed Auburn differential. The car also has a factory installed SLP Blackwing Lid. I have a Flowmaster catback on it...but I don't know what series it is...it came with the car.

Is there any computer tuning/chipping that would be worth me doing...or should I pursue other options? This is my daily driver so I don't want to do anything that will greatly hurt efficency, make it hard or unreliable to drive.

Basically, I know nothing about this and I was looking for some general information.
    1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS396 (Clone)
    2002 Chevrolet Camaro SS LE#2823 SLP M6

SUNSET ORANGE METALIC
    2001 CAMARO SS

chips

The newer computers dont have removable chips that you can take out and change, but here is a link to info about tuning. Hope this helps.
    http://www.ls1.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2440

2004,2008 triumph 675 SE