Red
    2000 Camaro SS

what does a torque converter do

i have a 3,500 stall torque converter which was suggested for me to use because of my cam and engine specs from texas speed. i now i worried if that is too high of a stall. what exactly does a torque converter do? what will be different when i drive my car now? thank you for your help.

chris

Arctic White
    1999 Trans Am A4

a lot of members don't suggest anything under 3-3,200. But i don't know how it technically works. i think your car is somewhat "stalled" until it hits a certain RPM. Never driven a stalled car, but it's suggested that it's a whole lotta fun!

Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

I am not an auto expert, but I think everyone else who answers will say no, that is not too high. A higher speed stall convertor (like you have) will slip more under high torque input, like when you are at a stop and are brake torquing the engine. The high stall convertor basically allows the engine to get into its' power band quicker. It should still lock up like a clutch after you get into third or fourth gear, to help your trans run cooler and get better gas mileage.

When you drive your car under normal slow conditions, you won't notice too much difference, but when you floor it from a stop you will notice the engine revs climb really fast and probably get the car sideways, much fun!

Arctic White
    1999 Trans Am A4

Quote Originally Posted by Too Fast View Post
    I am not an auto expert, but I think everyone else who answers will say no, that is not too high. A higher speed stall convertor (like you have) will slip more under high torque input, like when you are at a stop and are brake torquing the engine. The high stall convertor basically allows the engine to get into its' power band quicker. It should still lock up like a clutch after you get into third or fourth gear, to help your trans run cooler and get better gas mileage.