View Poll Results: Does your stock/unmolested 10-bolt whine?

Voters
62. You may not vote on this poll
  • No, not a peep

26 41.94%
  • Yes, just a little, kinda like yours the AC or exhaust hides it

18 29.03%
  • Yes, like a jet-liner taking off

13 20.97%
  • What's a 10-bolt? That thing I broke leaving the dealership when my car was new?

5 8.06%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Black on black.
    2001 WS6 M6 (stock)

Rear end whine? Common?

Well, a while back the pinion bearing went out in my rear end. I was backing out and it just spin. Anyways, had the rear end re-built and re-used my stock gears. It whines a little now, but not bad at all. The AC on "hi" about covers it. I have heard that stock 10-bolts whine anyways most of the time straight from the factory and mine is "within spec". Anyone else have a stock, un-molested rear end that whines?

White
    1999 SS

is it mostly upon accel., (i'm far from a driveline expert) i believe the backlash set loosely. I was told it is sometimes set this way for drag app's. someone correct me if I am wrong please.

PEWTER
    2002 Z/28 VERT.

All F-body rear ends "WILL" sooner or later make noise . If the car is stock and has never been beat on their usually pretty quiet . As soon as you start using that sucker for what it was meant for , get ready for the whine/howling sound . And by the way , it don't matter what rear end you decide to go back with , OEM or Aftermarket , they all are gonna make noise first time you side step the clutch with a bonsai start M6 or an A4 . You want quiet , get a Ford 31 spline 10-bolt 8.8 rear end assy. Weld the tubes , install a girdle & stay with Dino lube with whale oil .

pewter
    01 trans am ws6