Thread: Rear end leak

Black
    02 Z28 M6

Rear end leak

Traffic has been pretty bad to me lately. It seems like I'm always stopped. On the way home tonight this idiot wants to make the light and doesn't. So what else would you do? Just park your car in the middle of the intersection and wait until it turns green again of course. Well, that's what he did and when I finally got around him I spun the tires. I've babied this car since I purchased it a few months ago. When I get home I notice a small spot on the ground. The car leaked a bit of something. I looked under and it's got some sludge in the center of the car between the wheels along the pipe running to the front. I'm no mechanic should I be worried about this? I've never even looked there until I noticed the spot, which dried up an hour later, so I'm clueless. The net isn't much help on a search I get stuff about a rear differential leak and some people talking about seals. Another saying to tighten the bolts on the rear end. Anyone know?
    Last edited by ezwip; 08-13-2008 at 05:42 PM.

Awaiting Activation

69 hugger orange
    98 z28

sounds to me like your air conditioner dropped some condensation

if it dried up and is gone then i wouldnt worry ,oil will stain the concrete

Black
    02 Z28 M6

It's sludgy and I rarely run the AC. I touched the pipe and it's greasy and wet looking. I've got a mechanic I can take it to for repairs, but I like to act like I've got a clue what I'm talking about. He's a Ford mechanic so if I have no clue he's going to tell me it's my flux capacitor or something to screw with me.

SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

I'm not exactly clear where the puddle was...in between the front wheels or rear wheels??

Navy Blue Metallic
    2001 SLP SS Convertible