Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: axle bearings?

Pewter
    99 Z/28

Question axle bearings?

When i'm on the road, i hear a sound that I would think would be bearings gone bad that i believe are coming from my rear axle, would those be hard to change out by myself? i have some mechanical knowledge, did my own water pump and tie rod work for example, nothing too hard, and about how much would the bearings cost me? do you know if they are sold by themselves or in a whole assembly per side? thanks

Red
    2001 Trash Can

Maybe Sticky This!?!?!?

I just did them and they were not hard at all. DO NOT buy the bearings/ seals from anyone other than GM!!!! A little pricey, but you won't get screwed twice like me!!! You have to buy 2 bearings and 2 seals.

I got a "kit" from Autozone (bearings and seals in one piece) and they worked awesome...FOR 2 DAYS!!! and then the seals blew out. Had to rip em out again, and got a set of bearings and set of seals from NAPA, and they must have given me bearings with too big of an inside diameter, cause my rear vibrates like hell now!!! I took it to a rear shop and they looked at it (without tearing it apart) and told me what I had initially thought (inside diameter of bearings are too big) and that I should just go to GM and get the bearings, and now I have to get new axles as well and I'll be doing this for a 3rd time!!!!!

Now to the process. Get yourself a Haynes manual, or if you want to PM me I can give you the process from the manual.

1: You have to remove the wheels, calipers, and rotors, and if you have TCS or ABS you have to remove the little reluctor sensors located in the parking brake assembly (or you won't be able to push the axles in far enough to pop out the c-clips).
    2: Take off your rear cover, and let the fluid drain (I took a turkey baster and removed the fluid that wouldn't drain out).