Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Auto or Manual

Auto or Manual

I am new to the ls1 world and have a general question..plz dont flame me..lol Is there much of a difference performance wise between the auto and manual trans. I am looking at an 02 ws6 automatic, but i can also get a 00 z28 6 speed.

black
    2000 ws.6 m6

i like the ws6 way more than z28,but when racing i prefer manual seems to accelerate faster,but its tough to beat a stalled a4 off the line,its your choice,welcome to the dark side.

black
    2000 ws.6 m6

plus the 02 has ls6 intake and will breathe better,either way both great cars.

Arctic White
    2001 Firebird Formula

auto if your going to race, do a lot of city driving, or upgrade the f*ck out of the car....besides, who do u know that can shift faster than an auto lol....and there is no room for error with an auto. keep in mind that autos have more consistent times than manual for racing.

as for difference in power....i honestly believe that there is no difference in power....only shift points, weight, top speed and gas mileage etc... a car with an auto tranny will weigh maybe a 100lbs more. 500hp at 2500rpm is the same as 500hp at 5000rpm. people think they feel more acceleration with a manual cuz of the kick when they shift at higher rpms but by that time the auto is already at the next gear therefore i believe its neck and neck. a car with a manual tranny is going to have a higher top speed cuz of the extra 2 gears. also keep in mind that the only reason why gm equipped the top trim firebirds and camaros with the t56 is for gas mileage.....cruising in 6th gear increases highway gas mileage....not by much, but every little bit counts and adds up.

as for the car itself def go with the 02 ws6....quite a bit more power than the camaro.....about 20hp+ more due to the ls6 intake and ram air. fewer firebirds were produced than camaros...even less with ws6 cars. firebirds are just so much more aggressive and intimidating anyway