Stockitie Stock Stock 95camaroZNC's Avatar

Red
    1999 Trans Am

Valve spring removal?

Is there a easy way to get them out without spending a bunch of money on a tool to remove them? Maybe a trick? i was looking for this tool http://www.videowired.com/video/2866058134/ but even though the video was posted 3 months ago its not on their site. Any suggestions?

Pewter
    2002 Trans am WS6 T-top

Are you doing this in the vehicle or out? Its kinda hard to cheap out. Basicly the more expensive the tool, the easier it is. You will need some type of air compress that can put out close to 100 psi and a compression gauge set. I say compression gauge set because the adapaters are what you need. I have used a tool that I got from Advance Auto parts in a pinch. It has a star handle which is turnable that apply pressure to the spring which takes pressure off the retainer. Hard on the fingers/palm of hand.

Red
    1999 Trans Am

I work in a shop lol so i think i can manage but yeah out of the car, i bought a set of 5.3 heads and im pulling everything to have them machined I just dont want to pay a fuck load for a tool im only gona use a few times. I found 2 here for sale in town.

http://raleigh.craigslist.org/tls/1848125406.html
    http://raleigh.craigslist.org/tls/1888069322.html

Black
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

I would ask around and see if anyone will lend you theirs for a small fee. Personally I would buy it, because it would suck to spend that much $ on the heads and getting them ported and find out you fucked up your springs because you bailed out on a $100 tool.
    "Life is to short to drive a slow car"

Gone but not forgoten: 1998 Pontiac Trans Am M6 "The Black Bandit"
    Bought- 11-18-05
    Sold- 10-14-08

Red
    1999 Trans Am

Quote Originally Posted by rajiv1998 View Post