orange
    99 z28

Trying to decide on an engine

I'm looking at a zl402 shortblock w/ported stock heads($$ is the only reason). How extreme of a cam will it take to make this engine run like a raped ape while still starting and idling decent(i do like a bit choppy idle)

this is what I'm looking at - Comp Cams GEN III/LS1/LS6 350 Xtreme XE-R XER287HR Cam although it doesn't even have numbers with it, ask lmperformance why lol

and possibly a patriot dual valve spring kit

Will this even run?? I'm new to this so help please, also was gonna get a tuner, probably predator - again any better ways to do anything would be great. thanks

and on top of that, this is the 11.3 cr. i noticed there were 2 sizes of head gaskets, can i drop it down to like 11.1 with that? and are new pushrods/lifters neccesary or just a good idea assuming they're still good?
    Last edited by Orange99z28; 01-10-2006 at 09:10 AM.

Pewter Metallic
    2001 Camaro SS

A few things you are goign to run into:

1) Ported stock heads may run out of breath on the big end if plan to spin a 400+ CI motor with a big cam. Heads will definitely make or break a big engine like that. Consider waiting until you can afford better heads to support that monster

2) http://www.compcams.com/Technical/Cu...ML/200-203.asp
    That cam is listed at 238*/240* @ .050" with a 112* lobe sep. The extra cubes will soak it up a bit, but I'm sure you'll still get a lopey idle out of it.

3) For best results, you'll want to find someone who can tune the car hands on, not through mail order trial and error. Or consider one of the many tuning softwares and a wideband O2 sensor,and plan on spending some time with it.