Black
    '04 Corvette, C-5

Some sad LS1 News!

Hi, I'm John, even though I was a GM factory trained tech in the '70's, and a GM ASEP trainer as little as 4 years ago, I'm still primarily a Ford guy, please don't hold it against me! LOL! A Corvette for me has been a want since 1967, and the C-5 is an awesome vehicle, and the LS1 engine is a truly marvelous powerplant, so I've succumbed and bought my second Chevy in 35 years! Great to meet Y'all, looking forward to getting to know each of you!

I was talking to my buddy in CT last night, and he relayed some sad news.
    Back in October he had asked me to keep an eye out for a clean Z-28 for his son. Well, as luck would have it I found a MINT '98 Z in white, loaded with a ton of options, polished wheels, factory ground effects, 6 spd, t-tops etc. I sent him pictures, it was owned originally by a 50 year old, then sold to his 30 year old son, who happens to have been my son's driver ed teacher and track coach. Anyrate, my buddy, his wife and son came down to VA and bought the car. It had 45,000 on the clock, and was purchased for $9500. (I thought a pretty damn good deal)

It turns out his son blew the motor this week. It has serious rod knock and no oil in it. Now when my buddy got the car, he changed the oil with Mobil one as I suggested, and gave it to his kid. Steve heard the noise and checked the oil, it was so low it wasn't registering on the stick.

What would cause the engine to use that much oil? LS1's are good, bulletproof engines, (being a Ford guy, even I respect that) why would it use enough oil to cause engine damage? Yeah I know, the kid should have checked it weekly. Do you think he was revving the piss out of it on a regular basis? Could it have sucked enough oil into the intake from over revving to do this? Or perhaps a broken ring, the car never smoked though. Funny thing, I found him a '94 Z-28 for his wife with a very potent LT1, (the car was cammed and drag raced, and it's still going strong)