Thread: LS6 Build-up

Stealth Gray
    2005 CTS-V

LS6 Build-up

Hello all,

I'm nee to this forum so forgive my ignorance. I'm also pretty new to domestic cars, so the previous applies again *chuckle* Anyway, I have a 2005 Cadillac CTS-V with the LS6 engine package. I've been looking high and low for a staged build-up to follow but haven't been able to find one online anywhere. I can tell you what I have done so far:

1) ECU - thought I felt performance increase for a while, but not so sure now
    2) Magnaflow Exhaust
    3) Lightweight Flywheel

I thought bout F/I (MagnaCharger)for a little while but it seems to cause a lot of trouble with the burned out fuel pumps etc.

What can I do to get more power short of tearing down my engine to the pistons? The idea of taking the heads off even freaks me out a little. When I was in Subaru land, there seemed to be stage 1, stage 2, stage x etc. build ups posted everywhere. Is it just do your own thing here in LSX world? Does my car have the best there is before Forced Induction and that's why I can't find a staged procedure?

thanks in advance!

peace,
    S

Black
    2000 Z-28

Well what kind of performance are you looking for? Do you want to stay N/A or go forced induction, maybe nitrous? How much are you looking to spend? There's not really a different stage performance for our cars because there are so many different ways to modify them.

Stealth Gray
    2005 CTS-V

Hey...thanks for replying! I'm afraid to go F/I just because people seem to have a lot of problems with that. Ideally I'd like to start with $2-3K and go from there. See if that is enough performance. I just want enough power to keep the new M3s and Challengers in my rear view mirrors . Car seems to have a lot of low-end, but power all over the curve would be great!

Black
    2000 Z-28