Page 1 of 19 12345 ... LastLast

Candy Apple Red
    1998 Z28 Camaro

LS1 & $4k towards rebuild. what to do?

Hello everyone.

Let me start off by saying I am a noob. I admit that.
    Now that's out of the way, I have a z28 1998 camaro with an LS1 that has gone kaput and I am saving $4k towards rebuilding.

What should I do? I want as much horsepower as possible without blowing or using NOS. Any and all suggestions are welcome. I plan on spending the $4k on parts and labor. Thoughts on boring out and anything else?

- Jon

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

The block still good?

Sunset Orange Metallic
    2002 Z28 Hardtop

Forged bottom end if the budget will swing it.
    Money well spent if you want a good platform for future mods.

NBM
    1998Z28

Quote Originally Posted by gottalikeexplosives View Post
    Hello everyone.

Let me start off by saying I am a noob. I admit that.
    Now that's out of the way, I have a z28 1998 camaro with an LS1 that has gone kaput and I am saving $4k towards rebuilding.

What should I do? I want as much horsepower as possible without blowing or using NOS. Any and all suggestions are welcome. I plan on spending the $4k on parts and labor. Thoughts on boring out and anything else?

- Jon
    Well you can't bore out a 98 LS1 at all. Just lite honing. I might would go with a used 6.0 takeout. Shave the heads and do a cam.
    TSP 347 SB, TSP Stage 2.5 PRC LS6, TSP MS4, Performabuilt Stage 2 4L60E, Yank PT4000, 4.11s, Fast 90/90, FTRA Cold air intake+all the free mods, Dynatech Supermaxx Exaust System, DMH Cutouts, Hooker Catback/FTRA Tips. Tuned by RPM/Garner NC. 11.28@119

Black
    '05 GTO

Smile

can you define kaput, that could make a very big difference in possibilitys.

Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

I doubt one can do a forged bottom end including labor for under 4K....maybe. I agree, the specifics are needed on the existing engine before anyone can make a suggestion.

Blue
    02 Firebird Transam