Victory Red
    2002 Chevy Avalanche Z71

Cam Recommendation Please?

*For some reason the first time I clicked submit, it didn't work, so lets try this again*

Hey guys. I know you're all probably thinking, oh great, some noob here with 2 posts asking "what cam should I get" I don't really know anybody who is very knowledgeable when it comes to cams. So, besides calling a company, I would also like to get some opinions from you guys first. Before I fill out that "recommended questionnaire", I'll do a super quick summary of what I am looking for.

Essentially I am looking for a cam that is really good in the lower RPM range, good for daily driving, and has some what of a choppy idle, just to the point where it's noticeable, maybe slightly more. Also, I would prefer to get a cam that doesn't require me getting my heads reworked or whatever.

1.What size engine displacement? Stock, stroker?
    2002 5.3L, stock.

2. What heads? Stockers? Aftermarket? Milled? 5.3's? 5.7's? Need to know this.
    Stock 5.3L heads

3. Where do you REALLY want the power? Even though all these cams claim the same basic power band, does not mean that's where it is. A 228/228 is going to have a greater "power under the curve". When A MS3 is going to want to be spun higher to see the gains that a cam this size should show. There are cams out there that don't mind stock heads. But the MS series really like ported heads and a steep gear. Some may disagree. I'm using these two cams as a reference because they seem very popular around here. They are two completely different animals. Learn where and why. Power is completely different with the two cams listed above. Maybe try and find a happy medium.