Green
    '98 Z28

Post Big Problems! Need Help!

Hey guys,

I have a serious problem. I have a '98 Z28 and not to long ago I started to notice knocking in my engine. Not loud, but enough for me to notice. It got louder as the rpm's increased and the oil pressure also went down drastically as I drove. The temp. never jumped up, but now it sounds TERRIBLE. I mean TERRIBLE.
    I took it to the dealership and within 2 hrs. the guy told me that I had a spun rod bearing! he told me it would cost 7500 dollars to replace the engine. There's only one problem with that. I'm a 19 year old student at Auburn University and I don't have anywhere near that much after paying out of state tuition.
    Do you guys think that it could be anything else? If not, do you know where I could get an affordable used engine from? Or know of an affordable alternative to replacing the engine. I do want to keep this car because it's my dream car (green w/white leather and t-tops) but I'm afraid that if I can't find anything less than 7500 dollars, I'm going to have to let it go.

Let me know what you guys think. The car is in the Virginia Beach area if you know of any shops. If you want to make an offer you can! 104K miles

--GuessILS1

blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

sounds like alot of piston slappin'..but the oil thing points other wise but i'm pretty sure the dealer mech. would be right...you want to move this to internal engine..they will flood you with info...mods move this one please hey good luck man
    mods- suncoast creations hood with functional lt1 style airbox, ls6 intake, QTP longtube headers, QTP ORY, UMI SFC, Adj. LCA with relo brackets, UMI adj. panhard bar, Koni SA and strano springs,Torq Thrust M 17s 9.5 and 10.5 with nitto 555Rs, tuned by Frost
    Quote Originally Posted by Modulistic View Post
    sometimes you get owned, sometimes you own.

Awaiting Activation
    look on ebay and you can find a used LS1 for under $3000

WHITE
    99 TRANS AM m6