Thread: 5.3HO? or what

black
    2000 s10

5.3HO? or what

Im new to LS, so heres my question, How do you tell the difference in a 4.8,5.3,or 5.3HO? i was told a 5.3 has dished pistons but a 4.8 and a 5.3 HO has flat tops. how do you tell if its a HO (High Output)?

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

The iron block 4.8 and 5.3 are identical. Flat top piston is a 4.8 and dished piston is a 5.3. That's my understanding. H.O.? Not a clue.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

True but if advertised as a 5.3 he may have some bargaining room for misrepresentation of product purchased.

You can convert it to a 5.3 by changing the pistons. DSS has some very affordable forged pistons.

black
    2000 s10

Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    True but if advertised as a 5.3 he may have some bargaining room for misrepresentation of product purchased.

You can convert it to a 5.3 by changing the pistons. DSS has some very affordable forged pistons.
    What’s DDS ?

Navy Blue Metallic

Navy Blue Metallic

You also need to know if this engine has Active Fuel Management.

From memory here, iron block 4.8 does have flat tops but with a shorter stroke and longer rods than every other Ls. So you can't just change pistons to get a 5.3. Iron 5.3 does have dished pistons with the standard 3.622 stroke crank. The compression height and bore diameter on the 4.8 and 5.3 pistons are the same so you can put flat top 4.8 pistons in a 5.3 to bump compression. There is H.O. 5.3's but pretty sure they are all aluminum blocks. They also have flat top pistons and 243/799 heads. 4.8 stroke is 3.26? I believe.

Navy Blue Metallic

Quote Originally Posted by tug686spd View Post