Thread: Lowering my SS

Drive it like ya stole it sills1's Avatar

Pewter
    2000 Camaro SS

Lowering my SS

Not only do I plan on replacing the wheels on my car, evident by the poll I placed here in the appearance forum, but I'm also looking at lowering my car. I've been reading up on different combinations and I've come to the conclusion that there are too many to choose from. I have no previous experience with lowering an F-Body, so I am looking to those of you who have for some advice. Price isn't necessarily a problem, so let me know what is the best in your opinion. I need springs and shocks. Thanks for the input.
    John
    Come by and check out my 2000 SS
    Click here
    FQuick Site

Mystic Teal
    1998 Z28 M6

As far as shocks, pretty much anything by Koni is going to be good. Bilsteins are very high quality as well. If you want adjustability, Koni's are the way to go, but they are REALLY expensive. (about $250 for front fitment and $175 for the rear) .

As far as springs: the general concensus around here is to go with the Eibachs. The Pro-Kit advertises 1.5" drop in the front and 1.3" in the rear. It's more like just a shade over and inch in the front, and a shade under in the rear. The Eibach Sportlines are nice too, but they do actually lower the car the advertised 1.75" which could be a little much, especially if you have long tubes that hang real low. Both kits are around $200.

If you lower the car, you're definately going to want to do tubular LCA's and relocation brackets. Panhard bar and torque arm wouldn't be a bad idea either, and you can never go wrong with sway bars. Might as well replace the bushings too. Subframe connectors (if you don't already have them) make a huge difference as well as a tower brace.