Michael Blue

Mid engine project, transaxle needed

Hi!

I'm working on an Exotic swap project, unusual advice needed...

I'm building a Lotus Esprit S1, and adding an LS1.

At first I don't plan on more than 350-400hp MAX.
    I'll be adding ITBs and headers, light flywheel, etc, and will be raising the stock limiter to roughly 7500rpm (I'm getting adveice here in another thread for that).

I was wondering if anyone here was aware of a good 5-6sp transaxle that would work with this kind of project.
    In the Esprit, the transmission runs behind the engine to the rear of the car, so I don't know if the Corvette setup might even fit?

Suggestions and links to sources needed...

Thanks a ton for your help...I am a newbie to the domestic muscle scene, but I'm very impressed by this engine so far!

Have you looked at the Corvette layout?

M6TA
    get some info on Porshe transaxles or an Oldsmobile Toronado

navy blue
    2002 Z-28 Camaro M6

The Toronado set-up(if you can still find one) would handle the horsepower.The Corvette transaxle is separate from the engine,don't know if it's possible to connect the engine directly to it(with a custom adapter maybe).Interesting project-good luck.

Red
    2000 T/A WS6

Sounds like you'd need to research the C5's transaxle, and find out what it takes to fit it to an F-body bellhousing/input shaft/throwout bearing, along with anything else that I may not have thought about.

Also, check the overall length of the C5 transaxle, then add the length of the LS1 engine with the bellhousing bolted on. That'll tell you what kind of room you'll be dealing with.

Duuuuuude, that'd make for a KILLER rail buggy!!!

The Toronado set up was a good suggestion, but it is an auto. Going manual and trans rear of engine:
    Porche would be logical( also mentioned but big $)

Subaru with the center diff defeated( two outputs instead of 3)These six speeds can handle gobs of power.

Michael Blue