White
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

1998 WS6 differential noise question

Good morning everyone, I am new to the LS1 forum. My husband and I have owned our 98 since 2000.
    He recently(2 weeks ago) performed the differential service and even now when doing the slow figure 8's he is still getting chatter noise.

He used Lucas Synthetic and Trans X.

Now we are trying to decide where to go and what to do from here. Do we try to add more Trans X? Do we start all over and use NO Trans X? Do we start all over and use Non-Synthetic and OEM additive?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Also, can someone confirm that the 98's have the Auburn differential?

Pictures I attached below are just to show you how well taken care of the car is.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/WiAYbQFSRfDe7NYf7

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Did you add the limited slip additive?

White

We added TRANS-X POSI-TRAC Limited Slip Gear Oil Additive is designed to quiet chattering differentials and improve gear oil performance. Use with conventional GL-5 or synthetic gear oils.

Navy Blue Metallic

what weight of oil did you use?

when he drained it did he see any signs of bearing material or wear?

White

We used Lucas 75-90 Synthetic. No debris, shavings, or any gear wear at all.

Navy Blue Metallic

To answer your question about Auburn differential.

98 came standard with it though it is possible it could have come with the Torsen. Only way to tell is see if it has clutch packs (Auburn) or worm gears (Torsen).

Mine was an Auburn. I now have a 8.8.

Is the noise whine or chatter? Does it increase on decel or acceleration? In turns?

White