01 Formula

Biggest stall without comp tunning?

Whats the biggest stall out there we put on our cars before the comp starts to act.

01 Formula

Anyone?

98 Formula
    06 duramax

I have no experience with smaller stalls but on my 3500 I had to do a few things like raise the idle and set shift points. You'd probably want a tune no matter what stall to set shift points and raise your line pressures unless you did a shift kit at the same time.

blue
    2000ss

You can be reasonably sure you will be ok till you get up to about 3000 stall. But as mentioned a tune after a stall is a good idea.

FREE COOLER/SHIPING, NO CORE OR CHARGE,1YR WAR, CUST TRACK VIDEOS click banner 4 website, CALL 9 AM TO 12 MIDNITE 7 DAYS OR YAHOO MESSENGER
    SALE THIS WEEK! CALL FOR DETAILS!

01 Formula

Thanks for the input...

SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

My friend has a 2800 stall ( stock 3.23's) with the stock tuning in a 2002 Z28, and it is running fine with the stock tuning and Torque Management.

I have a 3000 stall coupled to 3.73's, and I needed a dyno tune to correct a myrad of problems.

SteveC

01 Formula

Steve what stall does your friend have if you dont mind me asking?What a difference it makes from 2800 to 3000.What are the specs,str and all that on your converter?

SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by FORMULA7 View Post
    Steve what stall does your friend have if you dont mind me asking?What a difference it makes from 2800 to 3000.What are the specs,str and all that on your converter?
    My friend has a Yank 2800 1.6 STR, I have a Yank 3000 2.0 STR, his converter is the stock 12" mine is 10 1/2" diameter. My vehicle requires a little more gas to get it moving, however the 3.73 gears compinsate over the stock 3.23's.

SteveC

01 Formula

From what Ive read is that the smaller mass in rotation makes the computer trip.Something doing with misfire detection codes built in the comp.Might try one of those stock 12" converters.

black
    2014 camaro 2ss/rs