Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Blackened fire chicken
    2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

4L40E rebuild question(s)

hey everybody, i have a 2000 WS6 (auto) and im about to have a transmission rebuild done...what are some things i could do to "beef" up the transmission? i im sticking with the stock cam and diff. gears, witch i think are 3.23's on the WS6...its a daily driver, so i havent gone to crazy with mods, just a slp airlid,oil catch can,free ram air mod, slp y-pipe and LM1, diablo tune. going back to factory tune, someone freegin stole my diablo tuner. hated the tune anyway, its probably why my transmission is messed up...anyway thats another story...what kind of torque converter does anyone recommend, and a shift kit if any? im kinda new with transmissions so bare with me

Pewter
    2000 Z28 Camaro

I had the trans go shift kit, but I got a new valve body so the current vb needs modified to put the trans go back in. It's a very firm shift.

I use a Yank converter, but if I were to do it over again. I'd give Frank at performabuilt a call. He's a stand up guy and has sold me parts in the past. They'll stand behind their product and they can sell you a converter with your fresh transmission and include the external cooler.

Real good transmissions, my roommate runs one. I would have, but I didn't have enough money at the time.

2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

FWIW, your car has a 4L60E. Lot's of things can be done to the tranny but what you should have done to it will depend on what you ultimately want to do with the car. If you stay "mostly stock" it will be different than if you go all out.

I had quite a bit done to the 02 but I race it a lot at the track also.

More info is required...
    67 Camaro: K-K + 797-z (look it up), 454/Th400/4.10 12-bolt = 6mpg, PS/PDB/PW tilt, tach, gauges...

2005 Corvette LS2/M6 Magnetic Red Metallic (What else would it be?) w/ Cashmere interior