Thread: Volant Vs. CAI

Sk8d85

Volant Vs. CAI

Which is better. Volant or SLP CAI on a 01-02 camaro SS ? Anyother mods that are relatively inexpensive? Please i need some input before i go buy something. Thanks!!!

Pewter
    2001 Camaro Z28 M6

hey another IL residence cool....

I would go CAI, its a pressurized intake over the volant system... what mods do you have?

m6 or A4 camaro do you have?

Sk8d85
    My 01 SS is completely stock so im ready to start upgrading it lol. And i just got it in May of 05 with 17K miles on it. I dont want to sound like an idiot but what is the difference between the m6 and a4. Im just getting into all this stuff so im just looking for advice. Thanks though!

Pewter
    2001 Camaro Z28 M6

congrats on a great purchase. I'm Jason, 28yrs old and have been driving these cars since I was a kid, and my GF is getting one too. So I do know alot but there are others that know alot too.

you dont sound like an idiot your just new to owning an amazing car.

One thing you might want to do is check out

www.ls1speed.com

They are a performance shop in schaumburg that specializes in our cars. They do amazing work and are a great group of people! They make turbo versions of our cars that do over 900rwhp and 9.0 sec 1/4 mile times.

There are other great shops too, Speed Inc is just my preference.
    Go to borders or barnse and noble and buy a GM high tech performance magazine. The magazine features a speed inc car on the cover. Plus the magazine is loaded with info.

M6 means Manual 6 speed transmission
    A4 means automatic 4 speed.

You have exactly the same car I do, but an SS version.

Bolt on mods that you definitely want to do right away depending on your budget:

Exhaust: magnaflow and hooker are regarded as some of the best flowing and best sounding. The best flowing for most HP is a flowtech cutout. Worth about 10 rwhp
    Magnaflow and hooker will cost about $400.00 an exhaust cutout about $30.00