Thread: Throttle body

black
    1999 camaro z28

Throttle body

I have a 99 z28 havent done much to it i have a flowmaster exhaust and a kn air kit. Wanted to know what kind of results i should expect upgrading the throttle body to the 80 mm. Is this worth it will really gain more pep

BANGIN GEARS>STAB N STEER BLK2KSS's Avatar

TRIPLE BLACK
    2000 CAMARO SS M6 #2100

You will feel a bit more throttle response but nothing real serious in terms of hp. If you find a good deal on one id say go ahead and do it but you will see more from a set of long tubes that can be had for around the same price as a good tb.

Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

Quote Originally Posted by BLK2KSS View Post
    You will feel a bit more throttle response but nothing real serious in terms of hp. If you find a good deal on one id say go ahead and do it but you will see more from a set of long tubes that can be had for around the same price as a good tb.
    Agree with blk2kss. If you want you can port and polish your TB and you will get a slight increase in Throttle response. If you have a dremel tool buy the metal cutting tip(not the discs). I spend like $20 dollars in materials and about 2hrs of time. If you dont have a dremel tool then you can look in ebay for port and polish ls1 TB. Its about $60 plus core charge. When you receive your TB you send your stock one back and you get the core charge back.

Im thinking about getting headers but I don't want to be too loud. Is a DD car.

Awaiting Activation

Light Pewter
    2002 Camaro SS

Don't bother with a TB mod of any type until you have surpassed it 's flow rate abilities, which probably would be needing a pretty stout cam and head work before it happened.

The aftermarket suppliers and manufacturers don't bother telling you the whole story and dyno runs really don't also tell the story.
    First with the dyno.