red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

My Trans Am vs WS6

Hey Guys,

I have a 98 trans am with a fiber glass ram air hood and i just bought an SLP lid and K&N filter. i was told that this should accomplish the same thing as a ws6 lid only better, sooo i was wondering if there is a difference between the front intake set up of a regular trans am and a ws6 other than the lid.. after looking at the part i just don't see how the opening will be any bigger, sooooooo i wanted to make sure everything was the same or if i would have to buy the front intake set of from a ws6

Sorry i know its a simple question but im new to the ls1 seen and i wanna just make sure i get my basic bolt-ons right.

Thanks guys!!

Black
    1998 Trans Am Ws6

Im pretty sure they are exactly the same. The ws6 is pretty much a hood and stiffer suspension

red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

Thats what i thought but i just wasnt sure.. Thanks for the response! Im just stacking parts in my room now.. im just afraid to start investing into headers because of how much it will cost me!

white
    2000 Z28

non ram air t/a's and camaro's dont get their air from the nose of the car. it comes from under the car. really it is just the left over air from the radiator in stock form. ram air t/a's get air from the nose through the hood and a taller air box. the air box has a taller base that allows for more air to enter via the slit in front of the air box. lids could have been upgraded from the factory but stockers had baffles in them that played with air flow to keep it quiet but flow less into the engine.

ram air camaros have a much higher intake on the hood but their air box is the same as the non ram air cars. it works but i would expect the ram air hood from the t/a to be a lot more effective with its positioning so close to the nose of the car.

all in all a taller air box base and ram air hood are the only intake differences between the ram air and non ram air t/a's

red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am