Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Kooks Y-Pipe Fitment Issue (Pics)

Being an F-body newbie, I'm stumped on this one and am not sure what to do. I just installed Kooks non-emissions headers and their catted Y. The install went fine, but I have Y-pipe clearance issues on the driver's side. The pipe touches the brake lines in the tunnel and is very tight (maybe 1/8" or less) from the support bracket that runs from the trans mount to the tunnel brace (lengthwise to the left of the tunnel). If I so much as wiggle the pipe it thumps against the body.

The motor mounts are stock and appear to be in good shape, no deterioration or apparent sagging. I have looked it over better than a dozen times now and can't seem to come up with a fix that does not involve a BFH or a TIG welder. I know lots of you guys are running Kooks, but my questions posted in two other threads have gone essentially unanswered. Here are a few pics to give you an idea of what it looks like:

black
    1998 trans am

can you get a far away pics with the entire setup in view.

thanks,
    Mark

KYSpeed.com | FREE SHIPPING & HANDLING | PRICE MATCH | EMAIL

Kook's | American Racing Headers | Vararam | HallTech | Textralia | SPEC | McLeod | Raptor | Trick Flow | AFR | ECS
    | FAST | APS | TTi | Procharger | RPM Transmission | Comp | DMH | HP Tuners | PFADT | SLP | STS

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Quote Originally Posted by marksls1ta View Post
    can you get a far away pics with the entire setup in view.

thanks,
    Mark

I can in the morning when I put it back up in the air. You want something from the side to see how the header is hanging?

black
    1998 trans am

yeah that and front to back.

Thanks,
    Mark

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Quote Originally Posted by marksls1ta View Post
    yeah that and front to back.

Thanks,
    Mark