Searching...

Can I get some opinions?

Hey all, just have a question about Corvettes and figured this was the best place to ask. I've managed to save a decent amount of money the last couple of years and was looking at purchasing an '07-'09 Z06. My question is however, would it be worth more bang for the buck for performance to go with a cheaper '00-'02 Camaro SS and pour some money into it? I've owned 3 different thirdgen Camaros in the past which have all had different motor combos but I've never owned an LS vehicle. I'm no expert on LS engines or Corvettes, so I figured I'd ask those who were. Thanks in advance for any advice/opinions.

Hard to answer your question since vettes and Fbodies are 2 completely different cars.

I have both a C5Z06 and a 4th gen SS camaro and they are vastly different in many ways.

I think you have to decide first which platform better suites your needs and wants. If you ever need to haul more than 1 person around then a vette is going to be an issue. If you have another car for this, then not a concern. With an Fbody you at least have that option.

Owning both, as far as looks and all around performance go, the C5Z06 is where it's at, and has it all over a 4th gen in all catagories.

If you are looking for something inexpensive and then plan to modify heavily, 4th gen camaros are still great platforms. If you must have a vette, I'm more of a C5 fan and never really got attracted to the newer C6 platform at all. However both have come down in price, with the C5Z06 still considered the best bang for your buck among many enthusiasts. Getting into one of these relatively cheap and then modifying could create a very quick and enjoyable vette for less cash outlay.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

There is really no comparing a Z06 to any Camaro. IMHO I'd pick the Z06 every time with one exception.....Track Car.