Justin

Black
    2002 WS6

WS6 30,000 Ques.

I need a little help in deciding what I should get done on my 20092 WS6 -30,000 miles in order to keep it it "tip top" shape-preventive maintenance.

My mechanic said that I only needed 3 things done at this point = Rear axle diff change, fuel filter change and coolant flush. He also said I definately did not need a tune up. Is this info correct? What about repacking the wheel bearings, PCV valve, tune up, power steering stuff, etc... ???? Im a pharmacist not a mechanic/tech so I really am kinda lost in this area. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

JR.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

is it an auto or stick car? might change out those fluids while you're at it. I pretty much agree with what your guy told you except the coolant flush doesn't need done at 30k.

M.R.M. & C.E. Yellow
    01 TA & 02 CETA

Im assuming that youre talking about a 30k mile service here. So what youre mechanic said is right, but you might also want to look into a tranny fluid/filter change (mostly if youre auto, not sure on the intervals for a 6 speed) and an oil change. In essence you are doing a "tune up", although its not like back in the day when you had to replace points, cap, rotor, wires and plugs every 30K miles. And if the factory plugs and wires are still on it, i would say that theyre good, the factory says theyre good for up to 100K. I wouldnt think youd have to repack the wheel bearings with only 30K on it, the pcv valve would be cheap insurance if you dont have an oil catch can, and the power steering fluid should be ok, just check and top off if you like. Also, quoting my owners manual, you might want to check/replace your air cleaner if the oem one is still in and have youre tires rotated, and that should be about it. Good luck!