Black
    2001 Camaro SS

what to do with my stock SS?

What's goin' on everyone

So here is my problem, I have owned my 2001 Camaro SS for 7 years now, but with me being in the military and having been over seas stationed in Italy for the past 5 years i haven't had time to do anything to my Camaro. My time in Italy is up and i am now going to get to go home back to my Camaro.

My question is..... The first upgrade that i want to do is install a Texas Speed 228R Cam. What i wanna know is.... do i need to upgrade anything else before i upgrade the Camshaft? and if so what do i need to do? Everything in my Camaro is Stock minus the Muffler, i have Flowmasters but that is it.... has no headers or full cat back exhaust just the Flowmasters muffler.

Please anyone with experience help me i am new to the upgrading of the Camaro and want yalls expertise

Thanks

Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

Why a cam first?

What's your goals?

How much money do you have for mods?
    Last edited by KMdef9; 02-08-2011 at 07:09 AM.

Black
    2001 Camaro SS

The only reason i thought of Cams first, was because a friend of mine recommended that I install some Cams into my Camaro.

My goals are anywhere in between 450-480 HP (my real goal is to compete with my friends '03 Cobra)

and my budget is $10000
    SKY SOLDIERS

blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

wowzers .........there is only 1 cam in our engines. 2. you can go cam only but you should really do it the right way and do the supporting mods. 3. personally i would keep her stock..not a lot of stock maros anymore..and if you can sit on it for 5-10+ years..come time to sell it..you might be very pleasantly surprised

Black
    2001 Camaro SS

i know there is only one cam i dont know why i said Cams but thanks for the head up. lol. and i have thought about keeping it stock but my buddy set me straight and reminded me that my camaro has already been in an accident so the value has already gone way down.