Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

white
    2003 gmc sierra

stock 03 5.3 needs help with towing.

03 GMC sierra 5.3 4X4. truck runs great for it being stock, just cracked 80 grand on her. i pull a toy hauler durring the winter season and i want some more umph out of her. besides for a no name muffler that came with the truck, she is stock. i dont want to break land speed records or kick any ass at the strip, i just want more power so i can pull my trailer a litter easier. where should i start ? i'm a little older and wiser than i was in high school when i was trying to beef up my truck, and whoop ass and be "cool". cool waved goodbye to me a long time ago. now i just wans something that runs good and reliable. i'm guessing these truck are in the low 200's as far as hp, just a guess mind you. i'm new to the 5.3 scene so i'm in the dark as far as adding power. pretty much any info would help alot. thanks
    jeff

98 Formula
    06 duramax

the easiest and cheapest is usually air in and air out. I'm not exactly sure what the aftermarket looks like for the trucks although I'd like to find out because I forsee a new truck in my future. Good air intake and headers/exhaust is where I would start along with a tune. You could get into cam and heads but it doesn't sound like that's where you want to go just yet.

red
    2000TA

LT headers with X-pipe kit ,good flowing mufflers,and a hand held tuner. a LS towing cam from compcam,check out their on line catalog.

2007 Cadillac Escalade
    98 Camaro SS, 09 G8 GT

There are tons of mods that can be done. I wanted the same out of my 6.0 so I did catback exhaust, tune, CAI, U/D pulley, and E-Fans. It is a totally different truck now and gets better gas mileage if I keep my foot out of it.
    1998 Sebring Silver Camaro SS Convertible
    Cammed, Geared, Stalled and soon to be blown via F1-C
    2009 Stryker Blue Pontiac G8 GT
    Kook's 1 7/8's LTH's and catted X, Pypes A/B, Vararam, Tune
    2007 Black Raven Cadillac Escalade