Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Satin Black
    1998 Trans Am

Screeching sound coming from rear of the car - sound clip.

I bought a 98 Trans Am with 148k miles about 7 months ago. The car has been parked since then, I would take for a 1 mile drive every couple of weeks, but that was it. I got a Flowmaster 80 muffler from a friend for like $20 and had it installed on Saturday.

It was a twenty min drive to the exhaust shop at around noon. I'm in Houston, and the weather was in the high 70s to low 80s. They removed the stock muffler and installed the flowmaster in about 35 min, we started it up, and it sounded good. The drive home was about 25 min where half of it was in the interstate and the other half in smaller roads. When I got home (close to 2 pm), I noticed this noise coming from behind the rear wheels. If I stood behind the car, it sounded as if it was coming from the center. I thought it might have been some sort of exhaust leak or maybe the muffler was bad. I researched online and noticed many people say it might be the fuel pump. I noticed the noise was heard even when I turned the key, before starting the car. So it led me to believe it might have been the fuel pump as it was priming. 5 or 6 hours later, I went back to the car, fired it up, and could not hear the noise any more. I tried it on Monday night and I could barely hear it at idle while standing next to the rear tire.