Red
    2000 Camaro SS

Radiator or headers?

So here is the deal: I am a beginner mechanic and broke so before I go replacing stuff I need to make sure it I am making the right decision. Idk the best way to list all of this so I'm going with bullet form:

Issue:
    Car overheating

Replaced:
    thermostat, and coolant sensor (I think, it's the one on the driver side toward the front of the block) and the alternator went out last week so I replaced that too (idk if that is relevant but w/e)

Symptoms
    reading overheating to the point that fluid boils out. I have a crack in the radiator but it still shouldn't do that. The one owner that had it before me used that dexicool crap that Chevi makes and I think that is clogging stuff up or corrosion. the coolant looks like it is kicking up sludge in the bottom of my resevor. I would go with replacing the water pump but it is pumping though fine some day's and the previous owner replaced it 3 years ago. took it to the mechanic and his diagnosis was blown headers but it isn't smoking or anything. There is a slight slight clicking noise though which concerns be but I am pretty sure I just need to replace the radiator.

Just need an expert opinion on who is right. and if it is the radiator I will deff need a step by step to replace it. have the tools but no prior knowledge and am broke and determined enough to do it myself.

Thanks,

William

Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

What color is your exhaust?

Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

An on a second thought, if you want to def. rule out blown head gaskets, you can get a compression test done.

Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

are your engine fans turning on? how did you confirm that the water pump is working properly? sludge in the reservoir could be caused by the coolant sitting there for too long without been replaced. You will need to do a whole system flush when you fix your current problem.
    Last edited by JayTA98; 05-25-2011 at 09:21 AM.

Red