2003 GMC truck

Please help a newb...coolant loss

I've got a 2003 GMC 6.0l daily driver. I beat on it daily, and it has been a super dependable truck. But it has developed a problem I haven't been able to figure out. It's going thru coolant at an alarming rate, like a gallon every couple of weeks. It's not leaking it (at least when it's parked), there is no foam in the oil, and no white smoke when driving that would indicate coolant is getting into the cylinders. I've got lots of experience with old school GM engines - small blocks, big blocks, Pontiacs - but I've never worked on a LS series engine, never even changed my own oil. Does this engine have any sort of history of loosing coolant like this? Note that its got lots of miles on it, and like I said, I beat on it pretty hard...

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

Have you tried letting it run while searching for the leak? Make sure to check it after the t-stat has opened too. It sounds like a leak with the conditions you are describing.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Like knight said you need to run it to find the leak. Water Pumps have a weep hole that is by design to leak so the pump will not seize. When you say alarming rate, by how much?

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Pull your dipstick -- does the oil on the end look normal or does it have a "milky" appearance?

2003 GMC truck

It's going thru coolant at about 1 gallon every two weeks. I average about 500 miles every week. The oil looks fine, not milky. I've let it run while parked in my garage a couple times, and have never seen a leak

I'm worried that I've got a head gasket issue and that coolant is getting into the cylinders and being burned. I've run ito that problem on other engines, but there was always a bit of white smoke in the exhaust. On this truck, there is none, or at least none that I've noticed. Do high mileage LS engines have any sort of history with head gaskets?

White
    1998 Trans Am