Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Teal
    2002 Camaro

Overheating problem

Hey guys, been a lurker off and on here for a while but recently had to join because i think my engines dying on me. I have a 2002 ss camaro that my dad got me after I graduated high school. It has 57,000 on it and has run good for the most part. Not long ago it started overheating on occasion. I would always catch it in time and never let it get above 220 or so. I talked to my friend about it (hes in UTI) and he said if i put about a quart of 50/50 coolant in with my oil, it will make the car run colder. I tried this and it worked great for about a month but now the problems back and my cars running really sluggish too. I cant have it on for more than 5 minutes without it overheating. I need this car for work so i still drive it everyday but id like to get the problem fixed as soon as i can. Anyone have any quick easy fixes that will work for a while like my friends idea?

NBM
    1998 Z-28

Quote Originally Posted by Krazy Kamaro Kid View Post
    Hey guys, been a lurker off and on here for a while but recently had to join because i think my engines dying on me. I have a 2002 ss camaro that my dad got me after I graduated high school. It has 57,000 on it and has run good for the most part. Not long ago it started overheating on occasion. I would always catch it in time and never let it get above 220 or so. I talked to my friend about a qit (hes in UTI) and he said if i put about a quart of 50/50 coolant in with my oil, it will make the car run colder. I tried this and it worked great for about a month but now the problems back and my cars running really sluggish too. I cant have it on for more than 5 minutes without it overheating. I need this car for work so i still drive it everyday but id like to get the problem fixed as soon as i can. Anyone have any quick easy fixes that will work for a while like my friends idea?