Red with Silver Stripes
    2002 Camaro SS LE

Optima Battery Problem

I don't know if this is the right place for this...but I thought someone might be able to help me with this. I have a 2002 Camaro SS LE and a few years ago (probably 3) I decided to put a red top optima battery in it. I wanted the best battery I could get. I don't drive my car everyday, I take it out a couple times a week and for the last several months it seems that the battery is slowly getting weaker. Today, I wasn't sure if the car was going to start. I know 3 years old isn't new by any means...but I would expect it to last longer than that. Do these batteries have a history of problems or am I just unlucky?

Also, I had a yellow top optima in my '69 Camaro and it didn't seem to hold a charge well from day one.

Black
    1998 Pontiac Formula LS6

I've been using Optima batteries for the last ten years or more. I'm on my second Optima in my Firebird, and I've owned the car since it was new in '98. Generally, I've had good luck using Optima batteries. After the original battery in my Firebird broke at the terminal and leaked acid in the area directly underneath the tray I've exclusively used Optimas.
    I installed a 78 series Optima in my old truck and I let it sit for a few months. The battery was only a year old. It ran down to ~5VDC. I charged it back up after a couple of charging sessions and got it back to 12.2VDC. When I put it back in my truck I disconnected the positive cable because I knew the truck was going to sit for a while longer non-op. I would put a battery tender on the battery if you know the car is going to be stored for a while.

11 years of bangin gears cammed goat's Avatar

Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

I agree on the battery tender idea. If the car sits, the battery will die. Optima or not. I have a red top Optima in mine. Installed it a few months after I bought my car 3+ years ago. Still going strong as I daily my car.

Black
    2000 WS6