Red
    2000 Trans Am

New member, new car, old problems...

Hey all. So I purchased a 2000 trans am this last Saturday for my dad 2 hours away. Real nice car, 72,000 miles all original. In the last 2 days the window motor has slowed to a crawl and there is a chirping sound from the engine, might be a pulley. I have no mechanical knowledge and no tools. Would you suggest I take this to the local dealer or to any old shop? I'd like it right before I give it to my dad, but don't have a ton of money as the car itself was a big dent to my bank account. Might try to replace the window motor myself, but don't trust my skills for the squealing. Any help is appreciated.

Pewter
    2002 WS6 TA

Hey James,

Welcome!

You may well be able to use this to get the windows
    working well.....

autotrix passenger window fix

This link from the site will also be helpful, I'll bet?!

All the basic Firebird stickies combined into one thread

As far as any other problems go, post them here first as I, like a lot
    of others, have benefitted hugely from the knowledge kicking around on here!!

Trev
    Last edited by speedyWS6; 03-16-2015 at 05:24 AM.

Red
    2000 Trans Am

Anyone know if autotrix is better then replacing with Dorman motor?

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

If the motor is not raising the window chances are it's already toast. If you get the Autotrix fix you might as well do the window motor at the same time.

I did this in 2010, haven't had to replace either window motor since. I use to have to every other yr.

Very few things I could say are worth their weight in gold, this is one of them.