NEED HELP!! LS1 swap, HP upgrades

before y'all jump down my throat, know that i am an avid american muscle fan. My first car was a 79 trans am with a 400, and my second car was an 02 ws6. both of which have very special places in my heart... now that my loyalty has been established, lets get to the real reason for this post.

I am getting a 1972 240z. I AM going to do an LS1 swap when the funds become available. I am looking for info, and ideas as to what to do to the engine itself before i drop it into the Z. ideas meaning HorsePower. I figure it will be easier to do everything while the engine is pulled and easy to move around. i probably have several months to half a year to add anything to the engine. I am not a bottomless pit of money, so keep price in mind when making suggestions.

I have some experience with LSx engines as my WS6 had dyno'd at 486rwhp so suggestions as to "adding a new lid and and ls6 intake can be skipped. i am hoping to pull AT LEAST400rwhp at the moment i drop the engine in the Z. and i wouldnt be opposed to more than that

also, should i spend the money and rebuild the engine myself while the engine is out? and basically start with a new engine, or should i not worry about it

please help, anything is appreciated.

Thanks for looking and hope to hear from y'all
    Last edited by spoonman4; 10-23-2013 at 07:35 AM.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Welcome, it will be interesting to see how you build it. We don't bash or tell you to use the "search" on this site. Most on this site love to see new ways to use the LSx platform on different vehicles. We have members doing C10's, Porsche, Classic GTO's, etc.

Some questions first.....

Purpose of build? Track, AutoX, DD, etc.. I ask because some of those answers means different suggestions.

400 RWHP is easy to achieve. Mild cam like 224 or 228 with 243 heads, LS6 intake and headers will get you that.