Thread: need help!!

Pewter
    '00 SS

need help!!

this may seem remedial, but i really need help with my window motor. please do not refer me to the thread that is on this website about how to install cause i am stuck on keeping my window up. i beleive i have all the parts together right and in right. now, i have to bolt the motor to the door, (no, i am not putting rivets back in). i see how it mounts to the door, but my question is, how do i keep my window up in place while mounting to the door? by that i mean with everything put back in, my window is still slipping down. does the bolts/rivets (your choice) have to be in in order for the window to stay up? please help in anyway possible.

also, no smart comments please. i am still learning so bear with me.

[]D [] []V[] []D
    1999 trans am

Quote Originally Posted by kenro23 View Post
    this may seem remedial, but i really need help with my window motor. please do not refer me to the thread that is on this website about how to install cause i am stuck on keeping my window up. i beleive i have all the parts together right and in right. now, i have to bolt the motor to the door, (no, i am not putting rivets back in). i see how it mounts to the door, but my question is, how do i keep my window up in place while mounting to the door? by that i mean with everything put back in, my window is still slipping down. does the bolts/rivets (your choice) have to be in in order for the window to stay up? please help in anyway possible.

also, no smart comments please. i am still learning so bear with me.
    i can't remember if i wedged a screw driver in there or if i let it down all the way... now that i think about it i think i plugged in the switch and lowered the motor down and let the window rest on that... i can't remember but i hope it gives some ideas...

NBM
    1998Z28

I've seen people use a rubber wedge like you would cram under a door to keep it open. You might be able to use a big eraser.