Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6

New CA Member

Hi,

I bought my Blk/Blk 2001 Trans AM WS6 new. Now I am up to 150K miles and am starting to have issues. I just found this site and will be searching it shortly. My main issue is that I have a knocking sound coming from the drivers side of my engine. It happens when the motor is cold and goes away mostly after about 15-20 minutes. It is quite loud when the motor is cold though. Since it goes away, I don't think it is a thrown rod, but I'm no mechanic. Anyway, hopefully I can find some pointers here. I love the car and want to fix it and keep driving it.

Tom

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Welcome to the site! Sorry to hear about the problem you are having.
    Last edited by pajeff02; 05-01-2010 at 02:20 PM.

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6

Loud Engine Knock at Cold

Hi,

I bought my Blk/Blk 2001 Trans AM WS6 new. Now I am up to 150K miles and am starting to have issues. I just found this site and will be searching it shortly. My main issue is that I have a knocking sound coming from the drivers side of my engine. It happens when the motor is cold and goes away mostly after about 15-20 minutes. It is quite loud when the motor is cold though. Since it goes away, I don't think it is a thrown rod, but I'm no mechanic. Anyway, hopefully I can find some pointers here. I love the car and want to fix it and keep driving it.

Tom

Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

How loud exactly? Can you post a vid? Our engines are notorious for engine ticking at cold start and then going away after it warms up.

You could start by checking to make sure you don't have any bent pushrods. Easy to change and cheap to replace if one is bent. Other than that, the lifters are notorios for being louder, but if it's really loud I wouldn't drive it until you figured out what the problem was.

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6