red
    2004 gto

Lost oil Pressure

Hi everyone! Hope everyone is doing ok.
    I am new to this sight and am hoping for some advise. I am a hobby mechanic with basic skills and here is my story. I have a 2004 GTO with a stock 5.7. The car is garage kept with 100k miles. I lost oil pressure without hard driving or racing conditions. My son just started it one day and the check oil light came on. When he told me about the notice, I assumed it was the reminder for the oil change and was making no noise. After a couple hndered miles or so, I changed the oil. After completion, I realized it was due to no/low oil pressure and not the change reminder. Ironically, there was no rod knock or even upper end valve chatter. No brass or metal in the dirty oil, fyi. I changed the oil pressure switch with no change. I installed a mechanical guage at the pressure switch location and had zero oil pressure. I eventually got the oil pump off, what a PITA. I was hoping for a failed pump but there is no obvious damage. I blew 40 PSI of compressed air into the oil pump outlet/into the block, hoping to see pressure at the guage connected to the oil pressure switch. It still reads zero. I am assuming that the old pump is still good. Did I spin a bearing and lose my oil flow path?
    Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Roger I moved your thread to a section that will get more visibility.

Navy Blue Metallic

Have you cut open the oil filter and check for metal/bearing material?

No oil pressure after changing the OPSU and using a mechanical gauge leads me to believe:

There's an off chance it could be you pinched the o ring on the oil pick up tube or it's missing. But that means pulling the front cover again and verifying it's there or torn.

Oil Pump failure
    Bearings are wiped
    Oil Barbell is broken or lost it's o ring.