black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

just bought a 98 ws6.can i spray it?

hello everyone.im new at ls1's but i absolutely love em!anyhoo,ive been looking for a c4 vette because i cant afford a c5.i ended up finding a 98 ws6 on CL for cheap cheap!! bought it 4 days ago and been driving it to work ever since.its got 133xxx miles.its a 6 speed.with a flowmaster.sounds grrrrrrreat.anyway its been in a wreck,salvaged title.it still drives great though.my question is this..after i get around to tuning it up like changing plugs,fluids,the noisey idler pulley etc,do you guys think its still healthy enough for me to add like a 100 shot of juice?just dont want to throw a rod or something.thanks
    Leeroy
    BTW whats up with third gear?want to grind going into it like 40-50% of the time.is it synchros?

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

Welcome!!
    You should be just fine spraying 100 shot. Also sounds like 3rd synchro is heading south. Any other symptoms with third gear?

black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

no not really .everything else works pretty good.except for the coolant leak coming from the pasenger side frame rail.are there coolant lines running up the passenger side?for the heater core i guess?anyway,i need to pinpoint and fix that leak.

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

Yep heater core and hoses are on the passenger side.

you can spray, but would be a good idea to tune the air/fuel to get the best results.

black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

Quote Originally Posted by neophytal View Post
    you can spray, but would be a good idea to tune the air/fuel to get the best results.
    with a hypertech?my ls1 is pretty mean,but i want to go faster.if i gut the cats,will the check engine light be on all the time?and what does the hypertech do besides change shift points and timing?im new at ls1,s.i just want to know where the best bang for my buck is with a stock 6 speed.im guessing nitrous,but any suggestions will be considered.thanks.