Thread: HP wanted

White

HP wanted

I am new to the world of the LS1 so here is my question. I just got a 2000 WS6 TA. The car is pretty much stock except for cats eliminated and has flow master exhaust. My goal is to put this car in the mid 7 second 1/8 mile. I am old school carb and points guy so all your help is appreciated. What would be the cheapest way to achieve this.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Welcome to the site!

That would be about a high 11 to low 12 second 1/4 mile if the conversion I utilized is correct. A cammed LS1 with full exhaust, gears and a tune will get you there. Our stock engine WS.6 runs 12.4's with full suspension, exhaust, track wheels, gears and a 3,200 stall. A word of caution though as the stock 10 bolt can die pretty quickly on a sticky track surface even with stock power.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Welcome. Mid 7 sec 1/8th mile isn't that hard. In fact, very easy with mild bolt on's and tune.

First you need to establish a budget. What you consider budget vs the rest of us can vary.

Cheapest way honestly is N20 and a 100 shot. But reliability and better for the engine life would be the following bolt on's:

LT headers, LS6 intake, Good tune with some suspension mods.

A4 (auto) - a decent stall convertor
    M6 (man) - for mild bolt on's = LS7 Clutch Kit, for serious tq/hp = monster clutch.

For serious bump in power a set of 243 heads and a good cam will really wake it up. But those take it from the "budget" to an "investment". There are some great cam/head packages out there. Just need to know what you want for recommendations. Stroker kits too. A 383 stroker is a mean car.