How hard is it maintaining an LS1 M6 Camaro.

Hey guys I just wanted to see how hard it is to maintain a LS1 M6. as far as maintenance changing all the fluids spark plugs... I know with headers spark plugs are a lot quicker any other tips would be appreciated. I just wanted to find out what's the biggest pain as far as maintenance goes. I'm not a professional mechanic in but I like to maintain my own vehicles as much as I can do. Thanks.

2002 trans am ws6

If you have done your oil changes you should be ok. The first time I change the spark plugs it took me like 2 hours. Now I can change them in less then 30 minutes, and that's berore I did the long tube headers. The T56 transmission is pretty good. I did change my transmission fluid when it reached 100k.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Jim, welcome to the site.

I see you list a 2004 Camaro, last one rolled across the assembly line in 2002. Not trying to bust your balls just letting you know. Need to check your year again.

In this section you will see a thread that says Technical Info Write Ups

Here:
    http://www.ls1.com/forums/f6/technic...tickies-79083/

It has a lot of write ups for most common issues that members have done. It's a big help.

Most common issues for f bodies are:

99-01 Chicken Pox - paint bubbles up on sail panel due to bad adhesive GM used. Not an easy and cheap fix.
    10 Bolt rear - GM puts a great power plant on a weak ass rear. Pinon leaks very common. Blowing it's gears - very easy on a M6 (more common if you drive aggressive launches). Not saying you need to be kid gloves just it's something that needs to be plan on replacing.
    Body flex - The cars are unibody. Needed to come with Subframe Connectors. There are bolt ups that can be install in your drive way. 3pt better than 2 pt.