Black

Red face Emissions equipment removal.

Hello all. This is my first time posting on here. I'm rebuilding the top end of my LT1 (blown head gasket), and had a question for you all. My buddy is a mechanic and he said that you can remove a good portion of the air recirculation/emissions piping/tubing on these engines. I'm not exactly sure what you want to call all of this stuff. What i'm referring to is the tubing that bolts into the back of each head, and two tubes (one on each side) that run over the valve covers (one end connects into the manifolds). Also there is an air pump of sorts towards the drivers side front of engine. Sorry about my ignorance here, and lack of proper terminology......i'm used to working on old muscle cars. Do you guys know what i'm talking about here? I could attach pictures if it would help. I just don't know what I can remove and block off with bolts without possibably having the computer/emissions sensors freaking out. It would also be nice to be able to have a little more room under the hood. Any advice would be appreciated, i'd be happy to attach pictures if needed.

Thanks.

2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

That is part of the A.I.R system and EGR systems you are referring to probably. You can remove it all to save weight and space. Won't net you any hp gains but will look alot cleaner and won't net any losses besides not so clean emissions. However it will throw some codes and set your ses off which you will have to get tuned out.

navy blue
    2002 Z-28 Camaro M6

AIR pumps started being used back in the 60's- same idea maybe a little more computer controlled. As stated it will throw codes but can be tuned out. It will shorten the life of your cat convertor if you are running them still. Of course it will increase the emissions coming from your engine if you care.

Black