Bumper Bubbling How to Paint??

I posted up on LS1tech but not to many reply's and they just said replace it. SO... guys a little background first. I bought this car in the spring of 08 and it had a raised bubble on the back bumper, where the paint was coming off. Not a big deal, it wasn't huge and there were no cracks. While a year and a half later it has turned to some pretty good bubbling.

I got a quote to do it and they said 500 for the whole bumper which is a bit out of my range. I was wondering how i can fix this. I'm not look for show quality but damn anything is better then this, I won't be doing the whole bumper just doing a patch job cause down the road (2 years) everything is getting painted

So i'm wondering what steps i need to take to fix this problem. I know i need to peel/pick away the bubble. I was thinking of going to NAPA to get the primer and paint. But i'm not sure what exactly to get?? I'm a decent painter and very patient, but i am a newb. Just not sure how to go about this.

Please help

Sun makes it worse then it is...

Last edited by GOR1LA; 09-20-2009 at 05:27 AM.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Are you planning on painting the entire bumper, or simply attempting a spot repair? Start by washing it down with some liquid dish detergent to cut through any wax buildup, or simply utilize a commercial wax and grease remover.

I would start with something like 320 wet paper and begin sanding the area down. If it is a spot repair you will need to feather the sanded area into the surrounding paint. If not, mask off your quarters, taillights and such and sand down the entire bumper.

Why did the paint crack there -- impact? Bad adhesion? If it is simply the top coat that has peeled, you just need to sand down until it is smooth. However, if it is all lifting up from the bumper surface, you will need to take it down further.