Green
    1998 Trans AM

Battery / Alternator Problem

Hello and I am newbie here so bear with me, I am currently having some issues with my battery gauge being in the red and the check gauge light is on. I took the car to Advance and they tested the battery and it tested strong. I asked him about checking the alternator and he said it should be good because the battery tested fine. It pretty much stays between 8 and 13 on the gauge. Since it started this I have been keeping a battery charger on it while its in the garage, but it never reads out of the red on the gauge. I think I am going to take it and have the alternator checked. All the wires seem to be making good contact and are clean.

I guess what I am asking is could it the gauge be reading bad or is it the alternator. If I need to replace the alternator do I need to go with a more powerful alternator as I have a high end stereo with subs and an amp. Thanks for your help with this.

Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar

Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

Welcome to the party bud....
    Ensure your battery connections are good and tight and clean...
    Check your connections on your Alt.
    If you keep charging your battery your either going to over charge it or burn out of the cells.
    The guy at advance is an absolute idiot. Goto a different store and have them run a "charging system check". Most places do it free of charge in hopes of selling you a part. Ie Autozone, Advance, Oreily's etc etc.
    Also make sure your Serp belt is in good condition.
    You can have batterys that have Voltage but Not Amperage and vice versa.
    I have a handheld Tester that works wonders but only if you run the complete test.
    Do you have a multimeter?
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

White
    1998 Trans Am