Green
    94 Firebird Formula

Exclamation shave mounting hub or center of wheel?

Newbie here....I have a 94 Formula and I am about to buy C5 Z06 rims (argent color and NOT replicas). Fronts are 17x9.5" w/265-17's and the backs are 18x10.5" w/295-35-18's. Before I buy 'em, I tried on one of the front 17's and I had no clearance issues. I then checked the 18" in the rear and I can tell that I will have to cut the edge off the jounce bumper bracket and maybe roll the fender lip. I have no issues with that.....but I could not fit the Z06 rim w/tire over the wheel mounting hub! It seemed like I was off by a damm centimeter when trying to slip the rim center opening over the hub mount, and the tire wasn't hitting anything else within the well to stop the rim from fitting over the hub.

I didn't have enough time to check the other side/rear wheel to see if I would have the same issue, but I heard some guys say that they shaved off just enough of center opening on wheels to widen the hole to fit over hubs. Wouldn't that possibly throw off balance? Afraid of doing that...Should I file the hub a bit?
    Anyone ever have this issue with any type of wheel?
    Appreciate any feedback, THANKS!

triple-black
    2000 CamaroSS convertible

ideally, you'd put a 1/4" spacer in the back... you can always cut the outer half of the bumpstop with no issues.
    Eugenio_SS
    almost stock triple-black 2000 SS convertible with 17x11s on all 4 w/ 315s at the track or on the street with 18x10.5s on all 4 w/ 315s: (1), (2)

black
    2014 camaro 2ss/rs

just cut out the center of the wheel. like you said, it's only a slight bit. i use a die grinder and grind it off until it fits. never had a vibration problem.